[edit] ShareLaTeX guides

[edit] LaTeX Basics

[edit] Mathematics

[edit] Figures and tables

[edit] References and Citations

[edit] Languages

[edit] Document structure

[edit] Formatting

[edit] Fonts

[edit] Presentations

[edit] Commands

[edit] Field specific

[edit] Class files

One of the main features in ShareLaTeX is to allow teams to edit documents simultaneously and interact in real time. This article explains how to add collaborators to your project, and also how to share a project publicly.

Contents

[edit] Adding collaborators to your project

After opening your project, move your cursor to the upper right corner of the page and click the Share icon Shareicon.png.

SharingEx1V2.png

Enter your collaborator's email address in the input box that pops up. If your collaborator already has an account on ShareLaTeX, this should be the email address they use to login to ShareLaTeX. Right below the text box, you will see a drop-down menu where you can set the permissions the new collaborator will have: Can Edit or Read Only. Then click the button Share.

SharingEx2V2.png

In the example, the owner's email is team+templates@sharelatex.com and is sharing the project "SharingSample" with a collaborator whose email is a.collaborator@email.com with Can Edit privileges. You can add several collaborators to your project (this depends on your ShareLaTeX subscription plan).

After adding a new collaborator, you will see the corresponding email in the list. You can remove a collaborator from this project by clicking the x.

SharingEx3V2.png

If this button is missing from your editor, it may have been blocked by an ad-block plug-in. Whitelisting ShareLaTeX should prevent this.

Once you've added a collaborator to your project, said project will show up in your collaborator's Projects page, and the name of the owner is also displayed. Notice that the projects you own have "You" in the OWNER column.

SharingEx4V2i.png

Now your collaborator can start editing the document. Here, two different users are editing the same document. We the owner's screen, and the owner's cursor is shown in black. The orange icon with letter A (the first letter of the username a.collaborator) shows that the collaborator is also editing. Their cursor is shown in orange

SharingEx5V2.png

ShareLaTeX provides the following features:

  • Built-in chat with LaTeX mark up enabled. You can talk to your colleagues and send mathematical formulae to them.
  • Instantaneous synchronization: changes appear immediately on all collaborators' screens.
  • Cursor tracking. You can see exactly what your collaborator is typing at any moment.
SharingEx6V2.png

Premium features such as Track Changes are available to all collaborators in a project, once they are enabled on the owner's account. Your colleagues don't need their own subscriptions to take advantage of the full power of ShareLaTeX when they join your projects.

[edit] Link sharing

There's also the possibility of sharing your project publicly, via a direct URL (which is not indexed, to be found by search engines). By default, ShareLaTeX projects cannot be accessed by a URL.

Sharing by link can be enabled in the Share dialogue. In the dialogue box that will appear, click Turn on link sharing, in the upper right corner. Two links will be shown, one which will give access to the project to edit, and another which will give access to read the project only.

SharingEx8V2.png

These links can be sent to friends or posted online. Anyone can read a project with a read-only link, and anyone with a ShareLaTeX account can join a project with a can-edit link. Link sharing can be turned off at any point by clicking Turn off link sharing. The links will no longer provide access to the project, and anyone who joined the project by a sharing link will no longer be able to view or edit it.

[edit] Publishing a Template

If you want to make a project available to others to duplicate and edit independently, without viewing or editing your original project, you can publish it as a template.

Open the Publish as Template dialogue in the project's Menu.

TemplateEx1.png

Then, you can add a description of your project before clicking Publish or Republish.

TemplateEx2.png

This creates a page for your project with a preview of the output PDF and space to add a description of the project. Clicking View it in template gallery brings you to the page created, which can be accessed by anyone with the URL.

When someone selects Open in ShareLaTeX, a copy of the project is created in their account for them to edit. Alternatively, they can download a .zip file of the project by clicking the cloud icon.

TemplateEx3.png
  • Changes you make after publishing the template won't affect the project user's copy from the template page - this will remain the same as when it was published.
  • The template can be updated to the current version of the project by reopening Publish as Template dialogue and clicking Republish.
  • A template can be removed at any time from the same dialogue, by clicking Unpublish.

Note that templates published this way are not indexed by any search engines, and cannot be found by searching our template gallery. If you have a template you would like to appear there, contact us and we will review it.

[edit] Quick Guides

  • Adding collaborators to your project. Within your project, click the Share icon Shareicon.png. In the dialogue box that appears, enter your collaborator's email, and in the drop-down menu right below the email input box select the privileges your collaborator will have. Finally click Share.
  • Sharing a project via link. Within your project, click the Share icon Shareicon.png, then click Turn on link sharing. Use the link with the appropriate privileges to share your project publicly or locally. Your project won't be indexed, so a search engine won't find it unless the link is posted elsewhere online.
  • Publishing a template. Open the project's Menu and click on Publish as Template. This will produce a preview of your project, and let others create an independant copy to edit on their own account. Your template won't be indexed or listed in the ShareLaTeX gallery, so a search engine won't find it unless the URL is posted elsewhere online.
  • If the Share icon Shareicon.png is missing, try disabling any ad-block plug-ins or whitelisting ShareLaTeX.